Human Services Guide
Colorado

Social Work Licensure in Colorado

  • Choose Education Requirements in Colorado for one of the following

With its spectacular Rocky Mountain range right through the middle of the state, few states in the union can compete with Colorado for sheer majestic beauty. Home to a diverse geographical land communities have formed and the need for social workers are in high demand. Starting a career as a licensed Social Worker in Colorado is a great choice. It is important to check in with each state’s Social Work board to get accurate and up to date information on the states licensing process. Here is the website for the State of Colorado:

To get your license, you will need to meet education requirements, meeting supervised work hour requirements (for LCSW), applying for the state exam and passing the exam. You must also pass the “open-book” Board approved Jurisprudence exam.

There are three levels of Social Work licensure in the state of Colorado. The Licensed Social Worker (LSW), the Licensed Clinical Social Worker and the Provisional Licensed Social Worker or (SWP). You can find the full set of laws and regulations for licensure in Colorado by visiting here.

Once you have met the requirements and applied for your exam, you may take the exam at any time within a one year time frame.

Do you know your education options? Begin or continue a degree - AS, BS, MSW, MS, PhD, Cert. Online and campus locations. Know your degree choices!

Sponsored

Featured CSWE Accredited Social Work Programs | Explore MSW Education Options

* Capella University - Online Master of Social Work

* Our Lady of the Lake University - Online Master of Social Work

* Widener University - Online Master of Social Work

* Fordham University - Graduate School of Social Services

* University of Denver's top-20 school of Social Work - (MSW) Master of Social Work Online

* Simmons School of Social Work - (MSW) Master of Social Work Online

* USC University of Southern California – School of Social Work - (MSW) Master of Social Work Online

* Baylor University - Master of Social Work online program

Licensed Social Worker (LSW)

  1. If you wish to attain the title Licensed Social Work (LSW) in Colorado, you must first get a Bachelor’s of Social Work degree from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited university or college.
  2. Pass the open book Jurisprudence exam which you can study for with the online guide here. Then you will need to pay $20 and pass the exam you sign up for here. If you do not pass the exam you must wait 10 days and then pay the $20 fee again.
  3. You must apply for your license and pass a criminal background check. You then need to receive a passing grade on the Masters or Advanced Generalist exam offered by the Colorado State Board of Social Work Examiners, or Clinical Level Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) exam.
  4. Complete a Healthcare Professions profile which you can read more about here.
  5. You to pay the appropriate $230 or $260 fee depending on level and then need to receive a passing grade on the Masters, Clinical or Advanced Generalist level Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) exam which you can sign up for here.
  6. You must also pass the “open-book” Board approved Jurisprudence exam.
  7. No work experience is necessary to attain your Licensed Social Work (LSW) title.

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)

If you wish to hold the title of Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) in Colorado, you must first get a Master of Social Work or Doctorate of Social Work degree from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited university or college. You then will need to apply for your Licensed Social Work (LSW) title and earn your supervised clinical Social Work experience.

  1. Before applying for your Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) you must also provide verification of a minimum of two years (3,360 hours) of supervised work experience in the practice of clinical social work supervised by an Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW). Ninety-six (96) of those hours must be supervised and 48 of which must be face-to-face contact.
  2. Pass the open book Jurisprudence exam which you can study for with the online guide here. Then you will need to pay $20 and pass the exam you sign up for here. If you do not pass the exam you must wait 10 days and then pay the $20 fee again.
  3. You must apply for your license and pay the $70 fee which includes questions about your criminal background along with a check
  4. Complete a Healthcare Professions profile which you can read more about here.
  5. You to pay the $260 fee and then need to receive a passing grade on the Clinical or Advanced Generalist level Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) exam which you can sign up for here.
  6. Once you have applied for your license need to receive a passing score on the Clinical Level Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) exam. You must also pass the “open-book” Board approved Jurisprudence exam.
    Once you have completed the above steps you will be eligible to hold the title of Licensed Clinical Social Worker in the state of Colorado.

    Social Worker – Provisional (SWP)

    In the state of Colorado it is possible to have a special title known as Social Worker Provisional (SWP) which allows you to work under supervision in a residential child care facility. You must first get a Master of Social Work or another relevant Masters degree. Once you have your Masters of Social Work or related Masters degree, take the following steps:

  1. Fill out the application on the Colorado Department of regulatory Agencies website here, this will include proof of education and has a $70 application fee.
  2. Complete a Healthcare Professions profile which you can read more about here